Links

Selected Castle Databases, Gazetteers & Sites:


Gatehouse: http://www.gatehouse-gazetteer.info/home.html

Andrew Herret’s CastleFacts: www.castlefacts.info

John Goodall’s The English Castle: www.theenglishcastle.co.uk/

The Castles of Wales: www.castlewales.com/home/html

Castles of Scotland: www.rampantscotland.com/castles/

Castles and Fortifications of England and Wales: www.ecastles.co.uk

Castles of Italy: www.consorziocastelli.it

Castles of France: www.casteland.com

Castles of Spain: www.castlesofspain.co.uk

Heritage Bodies -  Britain & Ireland:

England:

English Heritage: www.english-heritage.org.uk

Historic England: www.historicengland.org.uk

Historic England Archive: www.historicengland.org.uk/images-books/archive

Images of England: www.imagesofengland.org.uk

Heritage Open Days: www.heritageopendays.org

National Trust: www.nationaltrust.org.uk

SAVE Britain’s Heritage: www.savebritainsheritage.org

Scotland:

Historic Environment Scotland: www.historicenvironment.scot/

HES Canmore database: canmore.org.uk/

National Trust for Scotland: www.nts.org.uk

Scottish Civic Trust: www.scottishcivictrust.org.uk

Archaeology Scotland: www.archaeologyscotland.org.uk/

Buildings at Risk: www.buildingsatrisk.org.uk

Architectural Heritage Society of Scotland: www.ahss.org.uk

Scottish Castles Association: www.scottishcastlesassociation.com

Society of Antiquaries of Scotland: www.socantscot.org/

Wales:

Cadw: cadw.gov.wales

Cambrian Archaeological Association: www.cambrians.org.uk

Royal Commission for Wales: rcahmw.gov.uk/

RCW coflein database: coflein.gov.uk/

Archaeology in Wales: councilforbritisharchaeologywales  

Ireland:

Heritage of Ireland: www.heritageireland.ie

Environment & Heritage Service for Northern Ireland:communities-ni.gov.uk/

National Trust for Northern Ireland: nationaltrust.org.uk/days-out/northern-ireland

Ulster Architectural Heritage Society: www.uahs.org.uk

Royal Society of Antiquaries of Ireland: www.rsai.ie

Ulster Archaeological Society: www.qub.ac.uk/sites/uas/

National:

ADS -  Archaeology Data Service: www.archaeologydataservice.ac.uk/

British Geological Survey: www.bgs.ac.uk/

See also Strategic Stone Study database: www.bgs.ac.uk/mineralsUK/buildingstone

The Castle Studies Trust: www.castlestudiestrust.org

The Architectural Heritage Fund: www.ahfund.org.uk

The Council for British Archaeology: new.archaeologyuk.org/

Historic Houses (Association): historichouses.org/

The Landmark Trust: www.landmarktrust.org.uk

The Association of Preservation Trusts: hheritagehelp.org.uk/

The Heritage Lottery Fund: heritagefund.org.uk/

The Princes Regeneration Trust: www.princes-regeneration.org

Professional  Groups:

CIOB – The Chartered Institute of Building : Heritage Group : www.ciob.org.uk

IHBC – Institute of Historic Building Conservation : www.ihbc.org.uk

RIBA – The Royal Institute of British Architects : www.architecture.com

RICS – The Royal Institute of Chartered Surveyors: www.rics.org/uk

UKIC – The United Kingdom Institute for Conservation : www.ukic.org.uk

AAI&S - Ass. of Archaeological Illustrators and Surveyors: www.aais.org.uk

Societies -  Britain:

The Royal Archaeological Institute: www.royalarchinst.org

The Fortress Study Group: www.fsgfort.com

The Society of Architectural Historians GB: www.SAHGB.org.uk

The Society for Medieval Archaeology: medievalarchaeology.co.uk/

The Society for Post-Medieval Archaeology: www.spma.org.uk

The Society of Antiquaries [of London]: www.sal.org.uk

The Soc. of Antiquaries - Library Catalogue: http://sal.ads.ahds.ac.uk

The British Archaeological Association: www.archaeologyuk.org/baa/

The Medieval Settlement Research Group: medieval-settlement.com/

The Society for Landscape Studies: www.landscapestudies.com

The Ancient Monuments Society: www.ancientmonumentssociety.org.uk

The Society for the Protection of Ancient Monuments: www.spab.org.uk

The Gardens Trust: thegardenstrust.org/

The Society for Medieval Military History - De Re Militari: www.deremilitari.org/

Anglo-Norman Studies: boydellandbrewer.com/series/anglo-norman-studies

Societies -  Europe:

European Castles Institute: www.deutsche-burgen.org/en/

National Periodicals -  Britain:

Antiquity: http//antiquity.ac.uk/

Archaeology: www.archaeology.org/

British Archaeology: new.archaeologyuk.org/british-archaeology-magazine

Current Archaeology: www.archaeology.co.uk

Archaeology Ireland: www.wordwellbooks.com

Specialist Journals and Book Publishers:

Amberley Publishing: www.amberley-books.com/

Archeopress - British Archaeological Reports:  www.archaeopress.com

Ashgate: www.ashgate.com/

Birlinn:www.birlinn.co.uk/

Bloomsbury Publishing: www.bloomsbury.com/

Boydell & Brewer: www.boydell.co.uk

Brill: www.brill.nl

Château Gaillard (Brepols): brepols.net/

Cambridge University Press: www.cambridge.org

Edinburgh University Press: euppublishing.com/

Edinburgh University Press: Scottish Archaeological Journal

Dumfriesshire and Galloway Natural History and Antiquarian Society: dgnhas.org.uk

Exeter University Press: www.exeterpress.co.uk

Mike Salter - Folly Publications: www.follypublications.co.uk

The History Press: www.thehistorypress.co.uk/

Islands Book Trust: islandsbooktrust.org/

Oxbow Books: www.oxbowbooks.com/

Oxford University Press: global.oup.com/academic/

Pen and Sword Books: www.pen-and-sword.co.uk/  

Pevsner’s Buildings of England, Ireland, Scotland and Wales: yalebooks.co.uk/

Paul Remfrey (SCS Publishing): www.castles99.ukprint.com

Queens University Belfast: Ulster Journal of Archaeology/

Windgather Press (Oxbow Imprint): www.oxbowbooks.com/oxbow/

Yale Books:www.yalebooks.co.uk/

Maps, Images & Aerial Views:

Geograph: www.geograph.org.uk/

Google earth (needs Chrome): https://earth.google.com/web/

Ordnance Survey: ordnancesurvey.co.uk/

Kite Aerial Photography: www.armadale.org.uk/kite03.htm

PastScape: www.pastscape.org.uk

For images see the CSG Research page for Antiquarian images here:

Academic Institutions:

AHRC Arts and Humanities Research Council: www.ahrc.ac.uk

                               Last updated 01/02/2019



Links Index:  Castle Sites: Heritage Bodies: 					England 					Scotland 					Wales 					Ireland 					National Professional Groups Societies - Britain Societies - Europe Periodicals & Journals  Books Maps Academic Links Index:  Castle Sites: Heritage Bodies: 					England 					Scotland 					Wales 					Ireland 					National Professional Groups Societies - Britain Societies - Europe Periodicals & Journals  Books Maps Academic Links Index:  Castle Sites: Heritage Bodies: 					England 					Scotland 					Wales 					Ireland 					National Professional Groups Societies - Britain Societies - Europe Periodicals & Journals  Books Maps Academic Links Index:  Castle Sites: Heritage Bodies: 					England 					Scotland 					Wales 					Ireland 					National Professional Groups Societies - Britain Societies - Europe Periodicals & Journals  Books Maps Academic Woodcroft Castle,. near Peterborough