Links

Selected Castle Databases, Gazetteers & Sites:


Philip Davis - Gatehouse: http://www.gatehouse-gazetteer.info/home.html

Andrew Herret’s CastleFacts: www.castlefacts.info

John Goodall’s The English Castle: www.theenglishcastle.co.uk/

The Castles of Wales: www.castlewales.com/home/html

Castles of Scotland: www.rampantscotland.com/castles/

Castles and Fortifications of England and Wales: www.ecastles.co.uk

Castles of Italy: www.consorziocastelli.it

Castles of France: www.casteland.com

Castles of Spain: www.castlesofspain.co.uk

Arundel Castle: www.arundelcastle.org

Heritage Bodies - Britain & Ireland:

England:

Historic England: www.historicengland.org.uk

English Heritage: www.english-heritage.org.uk

Images of England: www.imagesofengland.org.uk

The National Trust: www.nationaltrust.org.uk

Historic England Archive (NMR): www.historicengland.org.uk/images-books/archive

SAVE Britain’s Heritage: www.savebritainsheritage.org

Heritage Open Days: www.heritageopendays.org

Scotland:

Historic Scotland: www.historic-scotland.gov.uk

The Scottish Castle Initiative: www.historic-scotland.gov.uk/

National Trust for Scotland: www.nts.org.uk

RCAHMS- Royal Commission for Scotland: www.rcahms.gov.uk/

Scottish Civic Trust: www.scottishcivictrust.org.uk

Archaeology Scotland: www.archaeologyscotland.org.uk/

Buildings at Risk: www.buildingsatrisk.org.uk

Architectural Heritage Society of Scotland: www.ahss.org.uk

The Scottish Castles Association: www.scottishcastlesassociation.com

Society of Antiquaries of Scotland: www.socantscot.org/

Wales:

Cadw: www.cadw.wales.gov.uk

Cambrian Archaeological Association: www.cambrians.org.uk

Civic Trust for Wales: civictrustcymru.org.uk/

Royal Commission for Wales: www.rcahmw.org.uk

Archaeology in Wales: www.britarch.ac.uk

Ireland:

Heritage of Ireland: www.heritageireland.ie

Environment & Heritage Service for Northern Ireland: www.ehsni.gov.uk

National Trust for Northern Ireland: www.ntni.org.uk

Ulster Architectural Heritage Society: www.uahs.org.uk

Royal Society of Antiquarians of Ireland: www.rsai.ie

National:

The Castle Studies Trust: www.castlestudiestrust.org

The Architectural Heritage Fund: www.ahfund.org.uk

The Council for British Archaeology: www.britarch.ac.uk

Historic Houses Association: www.hha.org.uk

The Landmark Trust: www.landmarktrust.org.uk

The Association of Preservation Trusts:  www.ukapt.org.uk

The Heritage Lottery Fund: www.hlf.org.uk

The Princes Regeneration Trust: www.princes-regeneration.org

Professional  Groups:

CIOB – The Chartered Institute of Building : Heritage Group : www.ciob.org.uk

IHBC – Institute of Historic Building Conservation : www.ihbc.org.uk

RIBA – The Royal Institute of British Architects : www.architecture.com

RICS – The Royal Institute of Chartered Surveyors: www.rics.org/uk

UKIC – The United Kingdom Institute for Conservation : www.ukic.org.uk

AAI&S - Ass. of Archaeological Illustrators and Surveyors: www.aais.org.uk

Societies - Britain:

The Royal Archaeological Institute: www.royalarchinst.org

The Fortress Study Group: www.fsgfort.com

The Society of Architectural Historians GB: www.SAHGB.org.uk

The Society for Medieval Archaeology: www.medievalarchaeology.org

The Society for Post-Medieval Archaeology: www.spma.org.uk

The Society of Antiquaries [of London]: www.sal.org.uk

The Soc. of Antiquaries - Library Catalogue: http://sal.ads.ahds.ac.uk

The British Archaeological Association: www.archaeologyuk.org/baa/

The Medieval Settlement Research Group: www.britarch.ac.uk/msrg/index.html

The Society for Landscape Studies: www.landscapestudies.com

The Ancient Monuments Society: www.ancientmonumentssociety.org.uk

The Society for the Protection of Ancient Monuments: www.spab.org.uk

The Garden History Society: www.gardenhistorysociety.org

The Society for Medieval Military History - De Re Militari: www.deremilitari.org/

Anglo-Norman Studies: www.boydell.co.uk

Societies - Europe:

European Castles Institute: www.deutsche-burgen.org/en/

Periodicals - Britain:

Antiquity: http//antiquity.ac.uk/

Archaeology: www.archaeology.org/

British Archaeology: www.britarch.ac.uk/ba/ba.html

Current Archaeology: www.archaeology.co.uk

Archaeology Ireland: www.wordwellbooks.com

Books:

Amberley Publishing: www.amberley-books.com/

Archeopress - British Archaeological Reports:  www.archaeopress.com

Ashgate: www.ashgate.com/

Birlinn:www.birlinn.co.uk/

Boydell & Brewer: www.boydell.co.uk

Brill: www.brill.nl

Château Gaillard (Brepols): www.brepols.net

Cambridge University Press: www.cambridge.org

Exeter University Press: www.exeterpress.co.uk

Mike Salter - Folly Publications: www.follypublications.co.uk

The History Press: www.thehistorypress.co.uk/

Hudson’s Historic Houses and Gardens: www.hudsons.co.uk

Lise Hull: www.lisehull.com

Oxbow Books: www.oxbowbooks.com  

Pevsner’s Buildings of England, Ireland, Scotland and Wales: www.pevsner.co.uk

Paul Remfrey: www.castles99.ukprint.com

Windgather Press: www.windgather.co.uk

Yale Books:www.yalebooks.co.uk/

Maps, Images & Aerial Views:

Geograph: www.geograph.org.uk/

Ordnance Survey: www.ordsvy.gov.uk/  

Getmapping: www.getmapping.com

Kite Aerial Photography: www.armadale.org.uk/kite03.htm

Images of England: Imagesofengland.org.uk

PastScape: www.pastscape.org.uk

Historic Scotland - Image Collection: http://www.historic-scotland.gov.uk/index/

Academic Institutions:

AHRC Arts and Humanities Research Council: www.ahrc.ac.uk



Tretower Court Links Index:  Castle Sites: Heritage Bodies: 					England 					Scotland 					Wales 					Ireland 					National Professional Groups Societies - Britain Societies - Europe Periodicals & Journals  Books Maps Academic Links Index:  Castle Sites: Heritage Bodies: 					England 					Scotland 					Wales 					Ireland 					National Professional Groups Societies - Britain Societies - Europe Periodicals & Journals  Books Maps Academic Links Index:  Castle Sites: Heritage Bodies: 					England 					Scotland 					Wales 					Ireland 					National Professional Groups Societies - Britain Societies - Europe Periodicals & Journals  Books Maps Academic Links Index:  Castle Sites: Heritage Bodies: 					England 					Scotland 					Wales 					Ireland 					National Professional Groups Societies - Britain Societies - Europe Periodicals & Journals  Books Maps Academic